The Girl Next Door Cover Image
$19.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


Part To All the Boys I've Loved Before, part Everything Leads to You, this queer rom-com puts a smart spin on all the YA tropes we can't get enough of.

Film club nerd Cleo Ferrara’s senior year was like a storyboard waiting to be filmed. She knew the scenes, the players, and the eventual happy ending. Attend film school with her boyfriend, Daniel Sheridan. Become a film-making power couple. Take Hollywood by storm. Cut. Print. Fade to black.?

But in a plot twist Cleo never saw coming, Daniel dumps her for Kiki Pearson, the head cheerleader. This would be the point in the movie where the Sad Girl Music plays while the protagonist looks longingly out her window, but when Cleo looks out hers, she sees Marianne Lacerda, her former best friend…and a new storyboard unfolds.

Marianne is also nursing a heartache. When Daniel was dumping Cleo for Kiki, Kiki was dumping Marianne for Daniel. So instead of watching their exes parade around school, Cleo and Marianne start fake dating each other to ignite a little chaos in this bizarre love square. But any movie buff knows that when you introduce fake dating in Act I, it’s going to get real by Act III. With friendship, the future, and love on the line, can Cleo script a happy ending for herself—or will she get her heart broken again?

About the Author


Cecilia Vinesse is the author of the young adult novels Seven Days of You and The Summer of Us. She was born in France but grew up between Tokyo, Japan, and Greenville, South Carolina. Her obsession with Nora Ephron movies led her to New York City, where she worked in children’s book publishing and lived in an apartment furnished mostly by stacks of novels. Now she’s in a small Edwardian house in England, where she spends most of her non-writing time devouring rom-coms and podcasts, baking as many cookies as possible, and holding horror movie marathons with her girlfriend and dog.

Praise For…


"A romcom lover's dream, filled with heart, laughter, characters to cheer for, and one very swoony romance. I've got the biggest book crush on The Girl Next Door. " — Elizabeth Eulberg, international bestselling author of Better Off Friends

"A delightful ode to romance and horror's best tropes, especially the fake-dating revenge scheme. Vinesse writes her characters with compassion and complexity; Cleo and Marianne positively leap off the page." — Kelly Quindlen, bestselling author of She Drives Me Crazy

"A warm, charming tale of a horror-loving film buff who’s stuck in a romantic comedy." — Kirkus Reviews

"This fast-paced story is highly character driven and [a] ­solid choice for fans of Alice Oseman’s Heartstopper and Jenny Han’s To All The Boys I’ve Loved ­Before."
School Library Journal


Product Details
ISBN: 9780063285873
ISBN-10: 0063285878
Publisher: Quill Tree Books
Publication Date: May 30th, 2023
Pages: 368
Language: English

You are here

The Girl Next Door (Hardcover)

Talk of the town

⇒ Read about our cozy store and wonderful staff in this article from NJ101.5: A 30-Year-Old NJ Mom-and-Pop Bookstore that You Must Experience

⇒ Our local community appreciates our bookish humor! The Bookworm absolutely nailed it with these sidewalk signs

⇒ The Bookworm is featured in BestofNJ.com's list of Best Independent Bookstores in NJ

⇒ Check us out in NJ.com's guide to the best independent bookstores